Today is a GOOD Day…

…for two very wonderful reasons.

  1. The Porglets are with me until Sunday.
  2. LovelyBoyfriend gets home today for his two weeks.

Two things to keep a smile on my face.

My English: Two New Year's Resolutions postcardsmain New Year’s Resolution for 2013 was to Be Happy. I had a great 2012 and am determined to keep bucking this upwards trend in my mood. 2011 was reasonable, 2010 pretty awful and I don’t even want to think about 2009 or 2008.

There’s me thinking in Big Chunks of Time again. It’s something I’m liable to do with my particular manifestation of BPD. I think, from my research and talking with my psychologist, it’s something quite common to those of us with the condition. It’s our black&white thinking. We lump things together in generalisations.

“Today was awful because I bought the wrong sandwich for lunch”. “This week’s been terrible because I’ve had a cold.” “This year’s been horrendous because I’ve been alone.”

sandwichRemember the good stuff, people. Yes, you might have ended up buying egg & cress instead of cheese & pickle, but wasn’t the check-out operator friendly? Yes, you might have had a cold all week, but haven’t your friends been so supportive? Yes, you’ve been without a partner this year, but haven’t you had a great time with your new hobby?

If you look carefully at your day-to-day life, you’ll likely to be able to balance out every single negative, with a positive. It takes practise (I’m still guilty of writing off whole years, months, weeks and days because of X, Y and Z) but it’s great when you succeed.

So, despite the sore back, the fact my diet’s gone out the window despite my trying really hard, despite the fact Novel the Third is going nowhere really fast…despite that, I’ve found my positives to overcome all that.

Today is going to be a GOOD day.

English: Think positive

2 thoughts on “Today is a GOOD Day…

  1. That’s a very good way of thinking, I bet it takes some practise but I think I need to work on it a bit more too! Lets see….I may be off work because I’m in pain…but I’ve finished the coursework I had to do because I’ve had the time and managed to catch up on reading the blogs I follow too 🙂 Have a great week, it sounds like it should be lovely! xox

    • It certainly does take a lot of practise, especially to think of doing it when you’re depressed or tired or in pain. But practise makes perfect; it gets easier the more you do it. It’s another tool in the mental-health-toolbox at the very least! Good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

