Word for the Weekend…

…discombobulated.

It sounds like a made-up word, doesn’t it? But I’ve found it’s the perfect word for describing those BPD-induced freak-out feelings.

Discombobulate

Discombobulate (Photo credit: sbpoet)

www.thefreedictionary.com gives this definition:

dis·com·bob·u·late
(dskm-bby-lt)

tr.v. dis·com·bob·u·lat·ed, dis·com·bob·u·lat·ing, dis·com·bob·u·lates
To throw into a state of confusion.
Things that discombobulate me:
  1. Rollercoasters (I’ve never been on one and never intend to. I went on a flume once; that was more than enough!).
  2. Heights. Think vertigo and then add another layer of discombobulation.
  3. Riding a bike. Unfortunately, I promised Porglet Maximus I would learn to ride one this year. I’m not looking forward to it.
  4. Ice skating. I keep thinking this would be a good thing to try…and then I remember the one time my Mum took me ice skating as a kid and change my mind. Once again, sorry Mum!
  5. Spinning round fast e.g. a roundabout.
Shaft-driven bicycle Photo © by Jeff Dean

Shaft-driven bicycle Photo © by Jeff Dean (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s that whole, horrible feeling of being not fully in control. Where my balance is thrown and I can’t feel a strong connection to the ground. Despite starting dancing at the tender age of 2-and-a-bit, I have rubbish balance. I get dizzy easily (always fun with the routines choreographed for our stage shows!). I didn’t start walking until I was something like 22 months old…I clearly didn’t want to let go of the ground even then!

Some people would call it anxiety, but I find the word “discombobulated” a lot easier to handle. Less connotations, perhaps. Plus, it’s a fun word!

I’m hopeful this weekend will be discombobulation-free. I hope yours is too.

English: Smile Español: Sonrisa

English: Smile Español: Sonrisa (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

