I Changed my Mind…

…about the Zhu Zhu hamsters.

A couple of weeks ago, I posted about The Pitfalls of Divorce, and said I’d rather have custody of The Porglet’s Zhu Zhu hamsters than their fairy post box.

moshi_monsters

moshi_monsters (Photo credit: DrJohnBullas)

I changed my mind. I’ve spent more time looking after virtual pets this weekend than the REAL guinea-pig! It’s not just the Zhu Zhu menagerie, but the wonderful virtual world of Monstro City. The Porglets just LOVE their Moshi Monsters.

(If you don’t know what Moshi Monsters are, be very grateful for that fact.)

I spent nearly two hours taking care of my garden yesterday, and almost as long taking care of two virtual gardens because of a special weekend promotion. I know – I didn’t have to do it…

I was online anyway, working away at book number 3, so I didn’t mind too much. But it got me thinking: How much time do we spend interacting through virtual environments, rather than real ones?

facebook

facebook (Photo credit: sitmonkeysupreme)

Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, other blog sites, Authonomy, Bookkus, craft forums, horse forums, forums for new mums, forums for old mums, mental health forums, forums for people who want to commit suicide, forums for people who don’t want to commit suicide…they’re all out there.

Be honest with yourself: how much time do you spend in a virtual world each day? How much do you spend in the real world? I know I need to shift the ratio.

Hug

Hug (Photo credit: kevin dooley)

We all have excuses as to why we spend more time online than outside. And some of those excuses are perfectly valid ones. You’ll know which ones they are because you don’t feel guilty when you give them. If you feel guilty for missing your nephew’s birthday party, or only wishing your cousin “Happy Birthday” through a Facebook message, perhaps it’s time to start trying a bit harder. I’m not saying it’ll be easy, but it’ll be worth it.

Leave a Reply

