Comfort eating…

…a misnomer if ever I heard one!

chocolateheartI’m an “emotional” eater – if something’s bothering me, I’ll eat (usually chocolate) in a vain attempt to make myself feel better. It rarely works other than in the immediate short-term. In the long-term it makes me feel worse, so I don’t know how/why/when I decided eating chocolate was a good “coping” mechanism. It sucks!

But I’m not the only person to turn to food when stressed, depressed or just plain upset with life. As a famous actress once said (Lovely Boyfriend quotes this at me and I’m always too busy laughing to take in the important details like who to attribute it to): Retaining water? Retaining cake, more like.

chocolatecakeEvery time I buy a bar of chocolate (or ten) to “make myself feel better”, I know I’m going to regret it later. But later’s later. I want instant “feel better”. For some people it’s wine, for some it’s crisps. For me, it’s chocolate. I tried to persuade the nursing staff to give out bars of the stuff on prescription whilst I was in hospital, but they never agreed!

Over the past three years, outside hospital and getting on with my new, independent life, I’ve gradually come to learn that chocolate isn’t the anwer.

Sorting out the thing that’s bothering you is.getonwithit

3 thoughts on “Comfort eating…

  1. I always turn to chocolate too, so I know what you mean! The short time effect is pretty nice, but after it’s gone out of my system I end up wanting a better pick-me-up… or more chocolae, haha.

Leave a Reply

