Unexpected behaviour…

…part of life with BPD, wouldn’t you say?

space1Except I’m not talking BPD today, I’m talking Space Academy! And believe me, I’m going to be all spaced out by the end of this week! Yesterday’s session with The Porglets went well and they’re still just as enthusiastic about continuing today. They’re loving the drama, especially. They’ve never seen me performing in a show, but they’ve seen me practising at home.

Now, I’ve been performing for longer than I can remember. I started dancing almost as soon as I could walk, competing at competitions and Highland Games across the country pretty much every weekend of the year. Then I took part in school shows, dancing shows and, eventually, joined the local amateur dramatics society. Standing up in front of a crowd and pretending to be someone else isn’t a problem for me, that’s what I’m saying.

Apparently it came as a bit of a surprise for everyone at church! I lost count of the number of people who came up to me during the week and then after the Sunday service to express their astonishment at my acting abilities (not that much acting was required).

In a way, I got annoyed. I’ve never kept my involvement in shows quiet, but nobody’s thought to ask me about them I guess. At our church, the Ex-Husband is the recognised performer.

But, after getting annoyed, I tried to look at things from their point of view and realised that perhaps getting up onstage is a bit unusual for someone of my normally shy and retiring nature.

Here’s the thing, though…in my black&white world, I KNOW I can do it. There’s absolutely no doubt in my mind that I can sing, dance and act, often all three at the same time.

I wonder what else I could do if I put my mind to it…

2 thoughts on “Unexpected behaviour…

Leave a Reply

