The Purpose of…

…short stories.

To occupy a writer whilst he/she struggles with developing the characters/plot of his/her latest novel.

It’s good to be writing again, even if it’s more plotting than actual scripting. My brain is having to work again and it’s enjoying itself after many many weeks of nothing.

Today I’m working on Death of a Director, my first murder mystery. It’s not a novel or short story, nor even a real play. The idea is that me and my am dram buddies can “perform” murder mystery evenings without having to spend money buying in the scripts. I also have The Butler Did It roughly planned too. It’s nice to let my sense of humour off the leash too, coming up with daft character names, like Hans MeDown and Inspector Semaphore.

I’m off to do some more plotting…

Leave a Reply

