When I Woke Up…

…the world was grey. The sun is hidden behind a typically Scottish sky of solid grey. The lilacs, creams and pale greens of my bedroom don’t stand a chance of being seen in the dim light.

The only colour in my bedroom is my phone screen as I write this. I had to dim it, it was so bright in comparison to the black & white world about me. It was Dorothy stepping into Oz.

When I woke up this morning, it was from a repeating loop of nightmares where friends became vicious killers, tricking and poisoning children again and again. Each time I had to think of a new way of helping everyone escape and every time it was harder and I had to get more ingenious.

When I woke up this morning, I was a hot, sweaty mess, thanks to the dreams and my medication.

When I woke up this morning, I remembered that Lovely Boyfriend wouldn’t be home today as usual because he has to attend a course in Holland tomorrow.

When I woke up this morning, I remembered that I promised to phone Porglet Maximus tonight, which didn’t go down too well when I mentioned it to The Ex-hubby. I foresee disapproving discussions before too long.

When I woke up this morning, I was tired, no – exhausted- before I even set foot out of bed.

Today I am going to do my grocery shopping, research my NaNoWriMo novella, learn how to knit gloves/mittens, finish sewing together Porglet Minimus’s hat, catch up on my ironing and take Mad Mutt for a walk.

Today is just another day after all.

Leave a Reply

