What makes…

…a saint?

I heard that two of our prior Popes are going to be canonnised next year. I grew up in the era of John Paul II but I can’t say I paid any attention to his actions. I’m sure the people who decide these things paid much closer attention!

It got me thinking, however. Who would I call a saint?

There were a couple of nurses and auxiliaries during my time in hospital who certainly had the patience of a saint! I bumped into one of my favourite auxiliaries the other week for the first time in 3 years. She was delighted to see me getting on and gave me a hug…but only after shaking me as she described how frustrating I was!

But, no matter how helpful, friendly or patient any of the staff were, none of them would classify as saints to me.

I reserve saintdom for the other patients. Those battling demons on a daily basis. Those not afraid to ask for help. Those living a life apart. Those who pick up their burden every day and keep on keeping on. Those who really are martyrs but try not to act like one.

Those are the people deserving of recognition in my view.

PS. Funny story. When I was about 10, I was playing Trivial Pursuit with my family. I misheard a question and it’s only now I realise why my Dad laughed so much. It’s quite easy to mix up canonnised and cannibalised!

Leave a Reply

