Bellowing kine…

…24/7!

Quick translation for the non-Scots: kine = cows.

There’s a cattle farm near Lovely Boyfriend’s house and once a year, they bellow and bellow and bellow and bellow. They were at it when I got back from my rehearsal at nearly half eleven last night. They were still at it whenever I half-woke during the night, and they’re still at it now.

Presumably, they’re upset about something, but do they have to keep going on and on about it?

Well yes, they clearly do…as do certain people when something upsets them! I appreciate that, at times, I am that person. If I’m feeling bad these days, I say so when asked. Some people might not like the mini-moan in response to their “How are you?”, but I feel it’s better to tell the truth rather than hide how I’m feeling…I hid those feelings for far too long in the past.

I do try, however, to keep it short and finish with a grin and a shrug. Some people, like the cows, don’t, and that can be mentally draining for everyone. We all know people we want to grip by the lapels and say “Quit moaning and DO something about it!”

That’s the important bit. If there’s nothing you can do to change the situation, a wee moan to an understanding friend may actually be helpful.

If there IS something you can do about it, however…that’s when you curtail your moaning and get on with fixing things. And 9 times out of 10, there IS something you can do about it! And on that 10th time, you can STILL do something about it; accept the situation and move on.

Moaning is part of our animal nature and, within reason, can be helpful to both the moaner and the moanee. Generally, it opens up a pathway to solving the issue or provides vitally important information (i.e. Time to call the men in white coats before this person does something silly).

Just make sure your moaning is put to good use. Notice it and act on it…otherwise you’ll be as annoying as the still bellowing kine.

3 thoughts on “Bellowing kine…

  1. Agree! Firstly that I refuse to lie about how I am anymore, though like your example, there are ways to make it not too awkward. Also very much agree about the need to do something to change the situation, or don’t complain. I feel sad that the person is hurting, but have a hard time if they do nothing to help themself. I’ve talked with friends about these things before. Great post 🙂

Leave a Reply

