New Year…

…New You?

First of all, I’d like to wish each and every one of you a Happy Year (and no, I didn’t miss a word out by mistake). New Year lasts a few days; we deserve to be happier for the whole of 2014!

It can be extra hard to find that happiness at this time of year; it’s dark, cold and wet. The rush of Christmas is over, leaving us flat and fresh out of energy. However, tradition demands we buck up our ideas and make some resolutions now!

Actually, I think now is as good a time as any. If we wait for a good time of year to buck up, we let our mental health dictate to us yet again. I don’t know about you, but I don’t like my “dark passenger” being in charge.

It’s not easy; anything but! I don’t particularly feel like getting down to work myself, but needs must to prevent the devil driving!

Last year I made 3 resolutions. I succeeded in learning to ride a bike. I didn’t get divorced but I moved things along in the appropriate direction so it should happen this year. I also, despite suffering a return of the clinical depression, was happy (I knew it even if I couldn’t feel it).

This year I resolve the following:
1. Attempt my motorbike CBT.
2. Go for a walk every day.
3. Self-publish my books.
4. Enjoy myself (by being more mindful of what makes me feel better or worse about myself).

There are challenges in there but nothing I shouldn’t be able to succeed at (note I haven’t said I’ll pass my CBT!). So now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go walk the dog in the cold and dark!

Leave a Reply

