BPD exaggerates…

…it doesn’t invent!

Apologies for the lack of blog last week but it was the Easter Holidays and I had the Porglets. I was kept so busy with the pair of them that switching on a computer never came into the equation!

We had a trip to a castle; we took the dog for a walk; we went on Easter bunny hunts; we went round a couple of museums. The usual things a family does on a holiday, and I had to keep reminding myself that “normal” families get tired too. By the time Friday came round, I was knackered, and my back/rib muscles started playing up on Sunday night to complete the “mummy needs a holiday to recover from the holiday” look.

Sometimes, with knowing my diagnosis so well, it’s easy for me to pin all my emotions and feelings on the BPD and forget other people can feel just as tired/stressed. I suspect I’m not alone in heaving a sigh of relief that our kids are back at school and things can get back to normal. Where the diagnosis helps me, is that I KNOW I’m not Wonderwoman. I KNOW I need a break planned into my Porglet-filled days. I KNOW I’m going to run out of energy at some point and lose my temper. What I need to work on is knowing that all other parents feel the same!

This is something my CPN has been trying to get me to see over the past couple of weeks. BPD exaggerates our feelings, but it doesn’t make them up. We feel things more acutely than “normal” people, that’s for sure, but what we’re feeling is entirely normal. It’s not wrong to feel tired after an action-packed few hours/days/weeks. It’s not wrong to want to strangle the little darlings as they argue over who gets the last yoghurt. What’s wrong is telling yourself that it’s wrong to feel whatever you’re feeling.

When I’m tired I blame my BPD and, in blaming it, I make it out to be a bad thing. I subconsciously tell myself that I’m feeling tired BECAUSE of the BPD; if I were normal I wouldn’t be so tired; the BPD is MAKING me tired etc etc. What I need to be doing is telling myself that I possibly feel more tired than some people because my BPD is EXAGGERATING a perfectly normal reaction.

I’m not sure when I fell into the trap of thinking my feelings were wrong but it’s one I need to get out of if I’m going to get on with living with depression on top of the BPD. Just because my emotional reactions are exaggerated, doesn’t mean it’s wrong to feel them in the first place. They haven’t come out of nowhere, made up by my broken brain. They’re genuine and I’m going to start treating them as such. My feelings are valid and come from somewhere…it’s time to start tackling them rather than excusing them.

8 thoughts on “BPD exaggerates…

  1. Very interesting observation! I often feel like I’m failing as a mother BECAUSE of my mental illness, but the reality is that everyone has stressers in life. That’s perfectly normal. Just have to find a way to cope with those feelings.

    • We do have to deal with exaggerated stressors but maybe that makes us better parents? My kids are more mindful of their own emotions because of what I’ve taught them (determined they won’t have the same problems!). I’m just very aware today that I can’t excuse my behaviours solely by claiming BPD. I have to deal with the causes in the first place!

  2. Pingback: BPD exaggerates… | makaedelee

  3. Thank you ive just had a break through in my bpd journey. Bpd exaggerates …it doesn’t invent! Is such a powerful way of explaining it. Ive been battling wiith it and unable to express with words. And those few have summed it up so well. Thank you so so very much

Leave a Reply

